ERP Implementation Failure

Jurin Liyun
2 min readSep 22, 2021

It's been a while I didn’t write. I have been really busy on ERP Implementation using ERPNext which in my personal view is a complete solution for any organization. Even though that ERPNext has all the functionalities, failure in implementation is not an exception. But the question is, why such a good product can fall into failure?

I encountered ERPNext while searching for an all-in-one solution for my organization one year ago. After reading all the documentation and what the product has to offer, I decided to present it to my organization and persuaded them with all the benefits using open source solution and Viola, they agree with my idea.

Then, I started the first presentation to the end-users who actually use the software and started to get negative feedback where most of the features are not sufficient for the end-user to get a day-to-day job done. I was surprised by all the negative feedbacks and started to dig deeper to know what happened.

Previously there was a vendor before me who had proposed a custom solution for our organization. It was built from the ground up but ended up in failure. The solution never satisfied our users.

With my proposed solution using ERPNext, it ended with the same fate but at least me and my team had successfully implemented it for the student domain. Until now, the ERPNext system still running well on our server to serve thousand of our students.

I keep wondering why? and was trying hard to relate both scenarios and found out…

--

--

Jurin Liyun

Developer, Trainer , Consultant, Father of two children