Boredom In Software Development

Jurin Liyun
3 min readFeb 18, 2023
Photo By Annie Spratt / Unsplash.com

One day a friend came to me and said,

Don’t you get bored with all the stuff you are doing for many years (software development, programming kind of things)

During my journey from junior to senior software developer in my organization (14 years), I can tell you that most of the boredom is due to,

  1. Repetitive work without significant value. Imagine working on a piece of software, maintaining the same programming style for over 10 years. The value I mentioned here was that, imagine you can learn to express your concern on the software you are dealing with and create something valuable for the organization to break or to bend over legacies? i think there should be a challenge and value that crippled the boredom feeling.
  2. Feeling alone in the fight. I trained many people along in my journey as a software engineer. One thing that I learn so much was that people is possible to feel alone even in a team. Imagine you are in a team of six and when problems arise, you are the one to be blame instead of getting encouraging advice from one another? This is quite demoralized right? To cripple the boredom feeling, let be together as a team, and encourage each other and be kind. Remember that we are human, and we are prone to make mistakes.
  3. Personal Attitude. This is quite personal huh., and this seems

--

--

Jurin Liyun

Developer, Trainer , Consultant, Father of two children